Friday, April 3, 2009

SPOTTING A SCAM - EASY WHEN YOU KNOW WHAT TO LOOK FOR

This is a Craig's List ad for people seeking work. A scam?

When you know what to look for, it's easy to spot:

The Ad says:
Customer Service ! (Nationwide)
Reply to: job-w6p6d-1061378400 @ craigslist.org
Date: 2009-03-05, 10:37AM EST
ARE YOU A COMPETENT CUSTOMER SERVICE ATTENDANCE ?
PLEASE CONTACT ME:
Joseph Hatch.
joseph.hatch @ flysafetynonwoven.com
Phone:- 305-517-7049
Location: Nationwide
This is a part-time job.
Principals only. Recruiters, please don't contact this job poster.
Please, no phone calls about this job!
Please do not contact job poster about other services, products or commercial interests.
PostingID: 1061378400

First, note the word attendance when the scammer really meant attendant.

Second, why no phone calls?

Third, by checking http:// whois.domaintools.com you see that the domain name: flysafetynonwoven.com is supposedly located in Florence, Italy by someone called Victoria Evans, whose registration address is Point Marion, Pennsylvania.

Fourth, that does not correspond with the contact name Joseph Hatch, whose contact phone number is in Florida. A Google search of the phone number ties it to ads seeking people for work in Canada.

Fifth, a Google search of the name Joseph Hatch clearly shows the ads using his name are scams.

Sixth, a Google search of flysfateynonwoven produces an ad for work in California, giving the same Florida phone number but with the contact listed as Michael Parker.

Finally, a look at http://www.flysfateynonwoven.com shows the site is "parked," which means it's not currently in use.


No comments:

Post a Comment